Experts’ Challenge: Elusive intermittent streaming problems

Read 3890 times
Howdy forum folks,

A little background, I have a lot of audio engineering experience, and a little audio streaming experience.  I was involved in a streaming project that operated with CentovaCast software (Icecast 2) for about 7 months with no issues, for whatever that’s worth.

I’ve recently tried to launch a new streaming project, so I purchased precisely the same streaming product I’d had before, with the same host, same gear, only this time, intermittent issues have plagued me from the start.

I’m on Mac OS and have been using Nicecast (later trying Ladiocast).  We have a Comcast cable modem with d/l speeds of over 100 mbps and upload of around 12 mbps.  The modem feeds a wireless router (and I’ve tried 2, a Linksys EA7500 v2 and an Apple AirPort Extreme).

I first experienced a series of server shut-downs - the host told me I was ‘over streaming’, 256 kbps to a 128 kbps account. I couldn’t find the source of this alleged data doubling.. I tried reducing the Bitrate to 64 kbps.. I tried mono vs stereo, never could get a stable stream going, tech support could only tell me the problem was ‘on my end’, and I eventually decided to switch hosts. 

With the second host, I haven’t had any server shutdowns, but instead will stream successfully for 10 to 30 minutes, then start getting intermittent ‘blinks’ of AutoDJ content.  Usually after that, I’ll hear some streamed audio that skips forward, sort of like scanning a digital file, interruptions in the audio, etc.  I never lose connection to the server, it doesn't shut down, but the stream is full of glitches and errors.

The host suggested these fixes (none of which worked):

• Changing bitrate to 64 kbps
• Switching from Icecast to Shoutcast (which we did.. they set up a different account for me)

I tried these things which had no effect:

• Streaming from 2 different computers, one ethernet cabled to the wireless router, one on wi-fi