Live DJ and /stream setup - have I got this right? Is this the best way?

Read 4803 times
Hello,

I’m new to Centova Cast and the whole switching to live DJs thing. I’ve been reading a lot on this forum but I just want to make sure I have it setup the best way and I have some questions.

Sorry for the long post and I thank anyone in advance for your reply and help.

My station runs 24/7  and the playlists etc. are all controlled by Station Playlist on my streaming PC.  The encoder is the one built in to Station Playlist.

I run 3 streams, 64k, 128k both mp3 and a 96k AAC. All are encoded in Station Playlist and uploaded to my hosting company.

I am using Icecast V2 with the hosting company.

That hosting company uses Centova Cast and my version is currently V3.2.6

I have configured 3 mount points in Centova Cast

The encoder is setup to stream the same content to all mount points.

Because Station Playlist is generating all my content, I presume Centova Cast is in “LIVE” mode most of the time.

I have auto DJ switched on with a couple of hour long mixes just in case my upstream stops.

I’m a bit confused on a couple of things.

1.   Should I have just one encoder streaming at 128k to the IP and Port number as listed at the top of the Quick Links page? Currently I have 3 streams setup in the encoder all streaming to their respective /stream mount points as per the details further down the  Quick Links page (same IP,  different Port number)

2.   As I am using Station Playlist as the music source 99% of the time I presume this is classed as a “live” broadcast. I will soon be having other DJs from around the world connecting at different times, when they are not connected, my Station Playlist PC will be connected as the main music source.

AutoDJ will never be used unless all the “live” djs/connections can’t connect for some reason.